Chinese-Forums

Good American ESL Textbooks and Teaching Materials

metal.lunchbox

I am an ESL Teacher in China and I am looking for textbooks and other teaching materials. I have found a number of programs I like which are well designed, focus on communication, and they include multimedia resources. These textbooks are from Oxford University Press and Cambridge University Press. They're great, but I'm looking for American materials because USA is number one! Just joking, I speak American English and I feel that it would make more sense for most of the accents in my class to match the teacher's. I just can't find a comprehensive ESL text with audio that I like that comes from the States. Any suggestions?

I'm working with beginners who would likely find listening comprehension much easier if the accents are similar at first. I say it one way then they hear someone on the test say it a very different way. I'm sure you can see how keeping things simple and somewhat consistent in the beginning would benefit the student? If you are suggesting that this is not a valid concern, would you mind elaborating a little?

I should also say that the students and their parents have expressed their preference for American English, so that is another reason for my search.

Their accents will be what they will be - largely Chinese. They may copy you; they may not. And I think it is important for them to realise that there are many accents of English, just as there are many accents of Chinese. Getting them to copy your accent will be the least of your worries.

What is an 'American' accent, anyway? New York? Chicago? Alabama? California?

Are you aware that the national curriculum students are following in school is based on British English? That is why they all have BrE textbooks and Oxford dictionaries.