Chinese-Forums

When to start to learn characters

Finn Bamboo

Hello all,

I am currently doing a M.A. thesis on teaching Chinese in Finland. I will focus on beginners' course and my main question is: Should teaching characters be delayed?

What do the readers of this forum think? Should students start to learn the characters from the very beginning or should they first learn pinyin and pronunciation properly. Should the first characters be radicals? I am a teacher myself but have not taught Chinese but I have studied it to the intermediate level.

IMHO start learning characters from the beginning or else it will almost be like starting again. It makes more sense if you learn it all together.

Its not that much more to take on and I think it is easier in the long run.

Invest in Pleco for tablet or smart phone and it will help with learning characters and Chinese in general. Have a look here https://www.pleco.com/

I think Pleco is indispensable to any student of Chinese.

Characters help with understanding Chinese and its many homophones become less confusing when you are using characters.

Characters are part of Chinese and if you leave them out you are leaving out learning a part of Chinese.

This is only my opinion as a long term student of Chinese, I have no qualifications as a teacher.

I would be disappointed if I went to learn Chinese and the characters were not taught or were taught later on.

• Like 1

I've been teaching Chinese for about 10 years, starting with basic levels. I think it's very important to begin with characters right away. They act as the "hangers" for students to put the Pinyin, tone, and meaning on.

We begin with three lessons of very basic characters, all of them radicals, things like 人, 日, 月, 火, and 木. This can quickly build up to words like 明 and  床 .