Chinese-Forums

Wording and Grammar in a Chinese Wedding Invitation

Pegasus

Hello everyone,

I am here to humbly ask for any help/assistance from anyone interested or willing.  First, here is a little bit of info about me.  I have always been interested in languages, Chinese in particular. Time permitting, I have studied Chinese off and on for many years now. However, languages don’t come easily for me. It takes an incredible amount of time to get good at a language (at least it does for me), and unfortunately, the demands of the life that I am living at the moment don’t allow me a lot of time for sustained studying. But, I’ve loved Chinese for a very long time, and I really do enjoy studying it. Unfortunately, although I have studied Chinese to the point where I am not an absolute beginner anymore, my Chinese ability is still not what I wish.

I am getting married, and I am creating a wedding invitation for my wedding scheduled for later this year. I would really like to have a Chinese version of my invitation along with my English version of the invitation. I am hoping I might be able to find some help with writing the Chinese version of my invitation. My fiancée and I picked out a pretty, but simple style for our English invitation. The language on the English invitation is modern and casual. It reads:

(All people names and place names have been changed to protect privacy.)

TOGETHER WITH THEIR FAMILIES

KATHYRN CHANG & STEPHEN CHEN

INVITE YOU TO JOIN THEM AT THEIR

WEDDING

SUNDAY, JUNE 7, 2015 6:00 PM

SERENIPITY GARDEN WEDDINGS

12865 OAK GLEN ROAD

OAK GLEN, CALIFORNIA  92399

RECEPTION TO FOLLOW

I am debating in my head how I should write the Chinese version of the invitation. Should I go with a version very close to what the English version reads? Here is my first attempt at that:

(Pardon my Chinese errors. I welcome any Chinese help or advice you can offer.)

跟家人一起

張秀英 & 陳曉明

恭請光臨

舉行婚禮

二零一五年六月七日(星期日)下午六時

SERENIPITY GARDEN WEDDINGS