Chinese-Forums

(Mac) DIY Dictionary software?

bokane

I'm starting on a couple of projects for which it would be very helpful to be able to create my own dictionaries with entries in a format something along the lines of

[Word] [historical pronunciation]
    [Definition n] [optional source of definition n] [Sentence illustrating definition n] [source of sentence] [optional year/period of source] [optional region of source]
    [Definition n+1] [etc.]

Right now it looks like my least-bad option for this would be either to create my own database in Filemaker Pro or roll my own system using YAML or something. Neither of these is ideal -- FMP looks relatively user-friendly, but I have no experience with database design and am almost guaranteed to screw things up in a way that will be complicated to fix a few months or years down the line, and while YAML is much closer to what I'm looking for, I would dearly love not to have to do any coding myself -- and as far as I can tell there aren't any pre-existing systems that do what I want. 

Is anyone aware of any flexible dictionary-creation tools (preferably available for Mac OS, but I guess I could always do this in a virtual machine) that do what I'm looking for?

• Like 1

Yeah; I'd thought of doing it via Wenlin, since their custom dictionaries/custom entry-editing setup is pretty painless, but portability and future-proofing concerns make me hesitate -- I'd rather have stuff in an easily readable, easily transferrable format. That MySQL setup might be a winner, especially if I move my personal wiki away from Dokuwiki to something that uses a database. Thanks for the link -- will check it out!

I have been thinking about this for a while and haven't found anything yet. Unless I manage to do all the coding, it seems impossible.

I will try StarDict and MySQL. How easy will it be to transfer content? The last thing I want is to start working on a dictionary and then one day be forced to manually copy all content.