Chinese-Forums

8 days, tons of questions, nervous

Keenan

Hey guys, I'm looking for an opinion on my situation from other people interested in learning Chinese and/or teaching English in China.

I graduated from university two years ago with a major in History and Biology (I'm 26 now), and seriously considered teaching English abroad, either in Korea or China. I'm much more interested in Chinese, since I took first year Mandarin at school, and the culture tickled my curiosity. 

I ended up working for a large telecommunications company. It's really not bad, decent pay, full benefits, long term growth opportunities, and I have carved out a niche there over a year and a half, learned lots of industry skills. At the same time, my friend began teaching English in China (Xian), having two brothers already married and working there long term. She convinced me to get a visiting visa and stay in her family's building until I can find a job there. They say it's quite easy, and also perfectly legal, to simply go to Hong Kong to apply for a work visa upon finding a contract. Take into account, after paying out all my expenses here, I would be going with only $3000 Cdn to my name, and no idea what I'm doing.

So.. it's a bit of a risk. All these thoughts are flying through my head. Is this a good career choice? Is it safe? Will I really be able to find a job there? Will I enjoy myself? Will I be able to study Mandarin there? Crunch time is here, and I really only have 48 hours before my boss needs the final decision..

:lol:

I ended up working for a large telecommunications company. It's really not bad, decent pay, full benefits, long term growth opportunities, and I have carved out a niche there over a year and a half, learned lots of industry skills.

Assuming this is in your home country (Canada.) Is that correct? Sounds pretty good. Do you really want to throw it away?

Is this a good career choice?