Chinese-Forums

My focus is Taiwan and Traditional Characters but all resources use Simplified

Alfred R Baudisch

Hey!

I've been studying Mandarim for the past 2 months and so far I have studied only pronunciation of individual syllables and around 180 characteres using a custom made Anki deck. When dealing with Hanzi, I put the simplified and traditional side by side. But I'm finding that kind of overwhelming and I want to put only the traditional one. So far so good, because I am the one building the deck.

But I want to move on and grab some grammar books and online courses, but everything is made using Simplified characters. I bought Glossika and at least they use Simplified and Traditional.

Any recommendations on traditional Hanzi resources? And even any tips on how to take these courses/books and "mentalize"/work with Traditional?

Thank you.

PS: Damn typo on the title and I can't update it.

When you start to learn Chinese, unless you're actually in Taiwan, it's probably best to just learn simplified characters then later learn traditional characters. As you realise by far most of the learning material is now in simplified characters. After your Chinese gets better start learning traditional characters. It's quite easy to learn the other style of characters once you're familiar with the other. Learning one or the other does not commit you to a different form of Chinese. Personally I'm learning both and and it's not problem at all. But I only started learning both once I was familiar with say about 1000 characters.

That said, if you're opposed to learning simplified characters I can tell you that most American textbooks (which are often better than Chinese ones I think) come in both traditional and simplified forms.