Chinese-Forums

seeking visa and TESOL/TEFL guidance for newbie

PerryJ

I stumbled upon this forum while doing research on visas for working in China. You will be able to tell from my post that I’m a total newbie at this, but here goes.

I have B.S. in Chemistry and I’m seeking to find a job teaching English in China for the upcoming Chinese school year. But I’m scheduled to go to china with a company I went with last summer as a volunteer English teacher on July 2. I learned today that I can not switch to a Z visa while in China on an L visa.

I wanted to get any feedback on what my best course of action would be.

I am considering getting an ESL certification while in China, but do not know how that might work, or if I should look for jobs before getting the certification, or even if I can get the certification while in China on an L visa, while looking for a teaching job. I’ve been told that it’s easier to find a job while there.

So my questions are as follows.

1. What TESOL/TEFL certification(s) would give me the best chance of finding an English teaching job in China?

2. Is it possible, or even sensible, to travel to China on an L visa, look for a teaching job, and then travel to Hong Kong to switch to a Z visa once I am hired?

3. Or would it be better to get a job before traveling to China on July 2, 2015 without a TESOL/TEFL, cancel the L visa that I have applied for, and apply for a Z visa now?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

I’ve have been looking at various TESOL and TEFL certifications, but with the vast number companies out there, I have been unable to decide which would give me the best opportunity for finding a fitting teaching position in China. I was originally looking to do it online, and nothing too expensive, as I don’t plan to make ESL a career choice at this point. I am only looking for a certification that is highly regarded among private and government ESL teaching programs in China, and internationally recognized.