Chinese-Forums

Writing Characters from Memory

SkylightDami

Hi all! I've been on this forum for a while and as my first post I'd like to ask for your ideas. 

A bit about me first: I'm a British student studying at Sichuan University. My Chinese is what I'd call 'Intermediate'. I use a various number of tools / resources to help with my studies such as my Laptop (Wenlin, Onenote, Evernote, Anki etc.) and my phone (Pleco, Google Translate). 

I think I'm at the stage where I really should be able to write more than just the basic characters from my head, especially since I'm moving up grades in my Undergraduate course. It's really off-putting having to write pinyin during exams when you can't remember the character. 

I know I rely on my laptop and phone too much, but are there any ideas or suggestions that I may put to use?

Thank you :)

There is only one real answer to this in my opinion, practice,practice and practice some more.

I would recommend Hanzi Grids use these to practice with. Start with the characters from your earliest lessons and work through them 15 - 20 characters at a time. Hanzi Grids is here http://www.hanzigrids.com/

There is a free version but the full version is a very reasonable cost and is worth having.

Also set yourself little writing tasks, using the vocabulary you have learnt write little stories, it doesn't have to be true or accurate as long as it grammatically correct and you have written the characters correctly, Concentrate on the writing and grammar. Writing the same character over and over as with Hanzi Grids is great for initial learning but by using them in context in a story helps you use them in a real world situation.

Skritter is great but if you are on a budget it can be a bit expensive. Also it is very good for memorizing how to write characters but not so good at helping you write them actually on paper with a pen.