Chinese-Forums

Chinese tea -- 中国茶

abcdefg

I'm posting this to ask if there would be much interest in a few short, informal articles about Chinese tea that could serve as starting points for related discussion.

I'm not an expert but did recently finish a short course of formal study as a 茶艺师, middle-level 中级。More to the point, I love Chinese tea and routinely drink many different kinds. I brew tea for my friends. When I travel to other parts of China, I always check out local tea culture and sample regional brews. I have several friends who are professionals in the tea business. 

Kunming is a significant tea hub, with two large wholesale markets and a zillion retail shops. Yunnan is also where Pu'er tea originates 普洱茶。It's very popular here in its several forms. You get offered a cup everywhere you go.

Tea is also part of daily China life. It's a way of connecting with Chinese people and their culture. It can be useful as a social bridge.

So, if you think this might be fun, please reply and we can give it a try. (I don't know how to conduct an actual poll.) Will flag this post for a moderator to solicit additional input and suggestions. 

Thanks!

Would be interesting to read. I have a number of pu'er bings, some with good levels of mold, but I worry that drying out in my centrally-heated house isn't doing them many favours. Anyway now it's green tea time, or at least this year's green tea should be available mail-order. I can't help worrying that the Chinese stuff is stuffed full of pesticides and other poisons but there are a couple of European vendors who assure that it's organic and passes the chemical tests they carry out to comply with EU regulations.

Just had a thought, we could do tea tasting, you suggest a tea and if we can all get it where we are, we can try it and then discuss it

Good idea, Shelley. I like that.

Anyway now it's green tea time, or at least this year's green tea should be available mail-order.