Chinese-Forums

Warming up to Pu’er: A Beginner’s Guide -- 普洱茶

abcdefg

@Jiasen -- That was indeed a lucky find! Had the tea improved with time?

Had also been planning to ask people who are currently fans of Pu'er whether it was "love at first sip" for them, or whether a long "getting to know you" phase was required.

What do you think? How did that work for you, @Jiasen and others? Could you please share your experience.

It was "love at first sip". I'm not an expert by a long way but apparently it does mature with age. My girlfriend is from Kunming so fortunately I get bags of puer quite often. I also like the non-fermented tea made from the same leaf - it has a slightly sweet/honey after-taste. 

It was "love at first sip".

Justin, you were lucky to have a "native guide" to help bring you these good tastes. Kunming people grow up with Pu'er tea from an early age and become very familiar with it. One of the glories of Yunnan.

The question I get asked most when out and about here in Kunming is simply, "生的,熟的”? (Raw or Ripe?) It's assumed by my host that I'll be having some tea, and that the tea will be Pu'er, the only question they are really asking is what kind I would prefer.

This happens several times a week, at a foot massage or barber shop as well as at someone's office or home.

Anyone visiting Kunming can easily enjoy plenty of informal Pu'er tasting by just walking into small tea shops with an open mind. The proprietors of these places love to brew up some nice tea. They get bored just sitting there, and welcome the opportunity to share. It genuinely goes beyond the desire to sell their wares; I've never been pressured to buy.

It's also a relaxing place to chat and practice your Chinese. You can usually get away from the standard seven or eight Taxi Driver questions that become so boring after time. You can talk about the tea with someone who knows a lot about it.