Chinese-Forums

Teaching English in China with Criminal Record?

Rapture93

Hi there,

I am a British student currently studying a business degree in the UK.

Having previous lived in Beijing for 3 years and Taipei for 4 throughout my childhood as my family moved about a lot, I studied Mandarin for 7 years. However, since I've returned to the UK I have lost quite a lot of it.

Upon uni graduation I'm thinking about teaching English abroad in China or Taiwan as a job, in a hope to become fluent in Mandarin after 2 years or so.

Unfortunately in the last 2 years I gained a criminal record. To summarise a long story short..

I was arrested for attempting to prevent an office arresting a friend, who I believe was being treated unlawfully at the time. Anyways..

I was convicted of:

Assault on a constable in his/her duty. (Category 3 assault, lowest level)

Assault with intent to resist arrest (my mates arrest, not mine).

Threatening and Abusive language.

I received a £200 quid fine in total and 6 months probation (Basically I couldn't do anything else wrong in terms of breaking the law otherwise these convictions would come back up). My convictions have become 'spent' as it has been a year since the conviction and I only received a fine, and so it becomes spent under the new reforms.

I understand teaching with a criminal record in the UK is a big no no, but how would this type of conviction affect me in getting a work/living visa in China or Taiwan?

Thanks for the help,

I think your criminal record isn't criminal, just a little problem that ended up with a fine. I believe they differentiate between a big problem and a little one like yours. In other words check with your home country first they may allow you to work as a teacher. If they don't, check with China, typically if the issue as little as yours I don't think they'll not allow you. Many people got arrested, drunk, offending officers, are all aren't allowed to be teachers ? 

• Like 1