Chinese-Forums

Absolute most cost/time effective way to learn Mandarin in China?

Bradford

• New Members

Hey all,

This is my first post, after many weeks of lurking. I'm currently an undergraduate in South Carolina, pursuing a degree in Finance. I'm more than halfway done, and I'm already looking for what to do after graduation. I intend to work in China in some fashion, I have some Chinese (Mandarin) ability in the sense that I can say basic phrases and conversation if I struggle. I got tones and basics down in that sense, but when it comes to real time speaking and listening I just can't stand up.

I have one more spare Summer left in my college career, and I'm juggling going to China to learn more Chinese, get an internship, or both if I manage to do some program that offers classes and helps with internship placements. What, in the honest opinion of this esteemed forum, would be my best bet?

I've been considering small group private Mandarin classes or university classes at Tsinghua or Ocean University in Qingdao, or maybe even Jiao Tong in Shanghai(but the price of living in Shanghai is a bit prohibitive). Which would be most beneficial to my time in terms of a gap summer? I intend to enroll for a year or two in a university after graduation, but for a Summer's worth of classes, what is the best way? University schedule or small private classes? 

I feel like I've already answered my question, but after reading many posts on this forum, I respect the opinion of the community and I would love to hear it.

Thanks,

Bradford

I have never studied Chinese at a university. But from what I've gathered they don't seem particularly better at teaching the language than people are at teaching themselves. Their main function seems to be a disciplinary one (keeping you on track). I think a self-motivated learner with just as much free time can do just as well or better than someone attending university.