Chinese-Forums

Cantonese characters

Andrew78

Hi everyone,

it's 2 month I'm studying Mandarin, now I'm a little baffled: I always knew that, even thouth China has over 80 dialects and languages, the charatcters are always the same. But now I see cantonese has its own characters, has it? but are they used and how much?

Thank you

• New Members

I am not sure if you are referring to standard Chinese characters widely used in HK and Taiwan when you mentioned Cantonese characters. In mainland China, simplified Chinese characters are used.

https://www.quora.com/Who-invented-simplified-Chinese - This might  help you unsterstand more.

Here is an example: Love - 爱 (simplified Chinese) vs. 愛 (standard Chinese).

Note that 'the heart - 心' is omitted from the simplified version - Without the heart, would that be physical love?? I have no idea!

My understanding is that it's a myth that all Chinese languages can be written with the same characters. This would be similar to saying that all Romance languages can be written using the French writing system. Cantonese has many words which are not cognates of words in Mandarin, for which new characters were introduced (often the mouth radical next to some other character with a similar sound). Other Chinese languages presumably have the same problem, but might not have a very accurate system for writing them down. So you could write them down with same characters, but only after "pre-translating" into something closer to Mandarin. (There is then the question of why Mandarin does not lack characters for writing it down. Maybe because the literary language was reconciled with the Mandarin version of the spoken language more recently?)