Chinese-Forums

Is going from X1/Residence Permit to L/Tourist Visa possible?

Simon D

Hi all,

I'm currently in my second semester on a Chinese language 1 year course, holding a residence permit. I have a flight booked back to the UK on the 21st of December, so less than 2 months away.

I'm really tired, bored and unmotivated at the university and find my learning and motivation when I self study is just so much greater. I barely show up to class and therefore I'm worried about my residence permit being cancelled which would be a big pain as I'd likely need to book a new flight home early, and I'm assuming that may also have some repercussions on future visa applications.

I would like to stay in China until my flight home, so is there anyway I can officially quit the school and get myself a 60 day tourist visa without having to do a round trip back to the UK? I can go to HK if needed but the information on mainland China visas in Hong Kong is pretty patchy since they changed the rules in 2013.

Hope someone could help out with this, always a weight on my mind that I'd like to resolve if it's possible.

If the school is going to cancel your residence permit, wouldn't they call you in and give you some warnings?

Couldn't you just go to class anyway, sit at the back and, if it's boring/easy just do your own thing... with half an ear on the class.

At Tsinghua they had clear rules about how low your attendance had to be before they'd either not give you a certificate or would kick you out. I never heard of anyone getting kicked out though.

Yeah in general they seem quite relaxed, last semester my attendance was awful and I didn't get any warnings as such, probably helped that I easily passed the end of semester exams (which according to the rules I shouldn't have been able to take due to my poor attendance).