Chinese-Forums

Tang Dynasty literature

reitia

Hello to all my new friends in the Art and Literature Forum!

I am a writer and researcher. Recently I discovered the wonderful, beautiful culture of Classical China. The dynasties which interest me most are Han, Sui and Tang. It is my wish to learn everything I can about the delightful literature of this period, especially the prose works such as novels, short stories, biographies and history written in these three dynasties. Where I live, in a small town, it's not easy to find classical Chinese literature in translation. I'm looking for books...particularly selections from the Chuanqin stories...in English, French or Italian translations. Please, can anyone tell me where to find complete translations of classical Chinese prose (online, also)?

Dear abhoriel and Hofmann,

Thanks very much for answering my post. As for Tang poetry: I enjoy it indeed, and have already read considerable selections in English translation. But it's the early Chinese prose fiction which most intrigues me. I see in the Chuanqin literature a trend toward novellistic techniques. Although the majority of these fascinating stories are brief, they have well-constructed plots and, frequently, keen characterization (at least the ones I've read; these tales are not easy to find in translation).

As for the very first novel: this is a controversial question. The ancient Greeks were already composing works of prose fiction at least 100 B.C. Chariton's "Callirhoe" is certainly one of the earliest true novels which we are fortunate to possess. Lady Murasaki's "Tale of Genji" is an early Japanese monogatari...but not the first of its kind; it is only the most brilliant. I suspect that prior to the composition of "Genji" there must have existed novel production in China, albeit in sporadic form. After the fall of the Tang Dynasty, these pioneer novels would have become lost (according to my theory).