Chinese-Forums

Dentist?

Huina

I had braces when I was a kid and the dentist left a wire on the back of my teeth to keep them in place. The adhesive holding the wire on has come loose and I just want to get the whole thing removed (I have a retainer, my teeth probably won't shift). It's painful and I need to get it fixed pretty soon (or, new fad diet?). Anyone know a good dentist? I can probably fight the language barrier... would prefer not to go to a public hospital, but don't need a fancy expat dental expert either.

Or, anyone got good dentistry vocabulary to share?

The Peking University Stomalogical / Dental Hospital is good. It is a very Chinese experience though so you'll need to ring in advance to get a number/time then when you're there you must queue up to get another number which is your place in line. After that you wait to see the dentist. Hopefully you also asked to see a dentist in the right department... Otherwise you might have to go back and get another ticket. They'd probably be sold out by that point. They also have VIP tickets that have a reduced queue but we didn't work out how to get one - always sold out!

My girlfriend had a root canal there. I'd say for the cost and time it took ... It would have been worthwhile paying what would only be a bit more and going private. My friend had the same thing done in one day at a private clinic. We went back to this hospital 4 times to complete the process. I'm not sure all of it was necessary.

I would say the reason it's busy is because it has a (deserved I think) reputation of being very good. I think people travel to Beijing to go there. The branch we went to was in Wei Gong Cun.

• Like 2

@ChTTay, thanks for the tip on the stomatological hospital! Actually, there is a grungy looking stomatological near my home but I prefer not to have the Chinese hospital experience! Taking all the tickets while speaking garbled chinese made worse by a sore mouth...