Chinese-Forums

How likely can I find a english teaching job in china?

marysimanli

• New Members

Hi, my name is Mary.

I'm thinking of teaching english in china after I graduate, so I want to know what is the job market like (i.e. how easy or hard to find a job), what the general range of pay is and what kind of place is best for me to teach at (i.e. kids/adults, private/public school, freelance?)

I was born in China, move to Canada at 10, went to school in Canada all the way to university. I'm now 24. So my english is at native university level, mandarin is at native speaking level, cantonese at conversational level. I can read Chinese no problem, slow at typing Chinese, but I can some what write. I have Canadian passport and have a ten year Q visa.

The only teaching experience I have is tutoring grade 6 kids on math in high school as a volunteer, and that was 6 years ago.

I have a bachelor in science and soon to be graduated with another bachelor in the applied health science field.

I appreciate any comment for anyone here.

Thank you so much!

Unfortunately, if you're looking at teaching English in China the main problem you likely have to face is discrimination by some potential employers. You should be aware of this before you begin your job search. Students and their parents have an idea of what an English teacher should look like ("foreign looking", blond/brown hair, blue eyes) and are reluctant to accept anything else. This causes recruiters and HR departments of schools to follow their lead. This is the case for most potential teachers from native speaking countries that don't fit the image of a 'foreign teacher' exactly.

Your Chinese heritage and language skills aren't likely to help you in your job search. Also, the fact you were lived in China up to 10 years old. To some students and their parents, they would just consider you Chinese and thus, be unhappy about 'paying' 'x' amount for a foreign teacher who is in fact Chinese (in their eyes).