Chinese-Forums

I want to major in chinese

中文男22

ni3 hao3 tong2 xue2. Last year I started learning Chinese on my own, and I became fascinated with the language. I am still a beginner, but I would like to be a translator, interpreter, and teach Chinese as a second language. I live in the U.S  and I am finishing my Associates degree this year. After I finish my A.S I would like to devote my time to studying Chinese, and get a degree in Chinese language. There is only one school in my state that offers Chinese as a major and it is four hours away. Right now I do not have the money or the resources to study at that school. Even though I can not attend that school, there is a university thirty minutes away that has a Confucius institute. The university has an agreement with Nanjing Forestry University. I was thinking of Studying at the Confucius Institute and then getting a scholarship and finishing at a Chinese university. Is this possible, and has anyone done this before on this forum. Any advice would be helpful.

• 4 weeks later...

Having an interest in Chinese is great, but remember that learning it to the point where you can do good work as a translator or interpreter is a long and tedious marathon that will offer very little in terms of tangible rewards in the years to come unless you are very good at keeping yourself motivated. Getting to the point where you can do it is a great achievement and very rewarding, although not necessarily in financial terms, but remember that right now, considering your level, you are standing at the foot of mount Everest and talking about becoming a professional mountain guide. If you know any other languages to fluency already, that would be a huge asset - as if you'd've scaled Mount Kilimanjaro already. It gives you a perspective and skills that would make the goals more easily attainable. Otherwise you should make sure to know exactly what you are getting into, and plan accordingly.