Chinese-Forums

Studying Chinese for 5 years

Gomez

Hello everyone, this is my first post here. Actually I want to study in Taiwan, well I am about to tell you my short story and my questions.

I learned English self-taught, and in the moment when I applied the TOEFL iBT, I got 103 points of 120 points; in few months I will travel to US to improve this language.

Well, when I return to my home country, I will apply for a scholarship to Taiwan for studying Chinese as a Second Language. I feel that my discipline is very strong, in addition I love this beautiful idiom for several reasons.

The scholarship is for 5 years, and I am thinking for the first year in enroll in MTC at NTNU (National Taiwan Normal University), after that apply in the same University; I will study Chinese other four years for getting the Bachelor Degree.

So I would like to know

•     Will I learn Mandarin excellently in five years of total immersion?
  •     Will I be able to speak, listen music, watch breaking news, or read the newspaper as I native speaker? (I mean, understanding anything, since the daily things, until the most unusual stuff)
  •     Is it a good option NTNU?
  • Like 2

Hello Gomez, and welcome on chinese-forums!