Chinese-Forums

Referencing classical Chinese texts

jeongin

Hello everyone! I'm a student of classical Chinese currently finishing up my Masters, and I...have an embarrassing question.

I am up to the referencing stage of my thesis, and I actually don't know the proper referencing systems.

I guess this is the downside of being able to access most texts free and online...apart from good old Google, I have been using a lot of well-known sites, such as ctext.org, throughout my research degree.

I have been tracing allusions in a literary work, and so I have to track down appropriate references to everything from the Shiji, Hanshu, Hou hanshu, Jinshu, to the works of Zhu Xi, and the poetry of Li Bai and Cen Shen.

I have noted that many scholars seem to use the 'Zhonghua' edition (1959) for references to the Shiji, but...is there an easy way to make that correlate with online resources? Because it doesn't seem to match the sections on ctext.

Any help on referencing classical texts would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Hello everyone,

Can anyone explain the appropriate way to reference classical Chinese poetry? The custom (in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean language works) seems to be that referencing the title of the poem alone is sufficient. I feel sure that this is not the case in English scholarship...

When I was referencing sites like  笈成 (http://jicheng.tw/jcw/index) in my assignments at school, I would just follow the standard procedure for referencing websites that was used by Vancouver style. I suppose that if you are at an English speaking university then you would follow your universities standard of referencing but using Chinese instead of English where necessary. 

• Like 1

There is a section on each text on ctext called "Library Resources". There you'll find a number of scanned copies of early manuscript or printed editions of the text in question. For example, here's the page for the Shiji.