Chinese-Forums

Phones -- using in multiple countries

TheWind

Need to invest in a new phone, but I'm more concerned about getting it to work in both China and America.

I hear XiaoMi has good phones for cheap. A co-worker recommended Meizu. But, I don't really know how to go about getting it to work in America. My current Chinese Oppo phone didn't work the last time I was there, also it is just a trashy phone. 

Any suggestions on both Chinese phones & or how to go about this process?

Side note: I really only use my phone for WeChat, pics, calls....generic stuff. 

Thanks =D

Have you had a look at  Huawei phones. Not sure about multi country function, but it is made in china so you never know. I bought mine in the UK and it works great here. it has multi language input as standard with the Huawei input method. Mine was excellent value for money and has been going strong for the last 2 and half years.

I am no expert so just throwing this out for you to consider.

What do you mean getting it to work in America?  I've never heard of different brands of phones having issues, so I'd have to think there is a solution to what you are experiencing.  Are you having problems with switching SIM cards, or need a phone that can handle multiple SIM cards, or issues with the carrier giving you access to international usage while in America, or trying to switch to a US number but possibly bought one of the GSM phones or whatever they are that don't have SIM cards and are locked to carrier? 

Most phones should work... for years I've used Apple phones bought in China or Hong Kong, Meizu would work, Huawei would work, I would think your Oppo should work...

But, I don't really know how to go about getting it to work in America.

It isn't a "brand of phone" issue.

You need to find out if the cellular requirements of your preferred mobile provider in your home country and the mobile provider that you use in China are the same. Need to be sure they are both CDMA or both GSM.