Chinese-Forums

Opinions on new job

nicole92

• New Members

Hi guys, I have recently accepted a job offer in Shenzhen (it's not a teaching job actually, but still in a university, i'll be working as an administrator) I'm native english speaker, with working proficiency in China (thats one of the reasons I got hired) with an MA degree from a Chinese university. I have no prior work experience and my working days/hours are Monday - Friday 8-5 PM, the benefits they offer me are:

12, 000 RMB a month

Transportation, phone and newspaper allowance 

Chinese classes

Work visa (my visa application just got approved, so waiting for them to send my documents to my home country) 

holiday bonuses 

3 months probationary period (will be getting 80% of my salary for the first three months)

15 days of annual leave starting from my second year 

Although I already signed the contract, what do you guys think of the job?  Do you think it's enough to  live in Shenzhen? Does it seem like a good deal or not? The thing i'm quite nervous about is my 3 year contract since it is a long time, and i'm quite afraid that I won't like the job, although it's too late to back out now. 

I have also gotten the opinions of several Chinese friends and a lot of them said it seems like a good deal, although i'd still like to get other opinions from you guys!Thank you! 

Honestly, a few things about this would make me think again. It's not too late either, just tell the company you've changed your mind. You could offer to help pay or pay for visa costs (if they provide receipts or some proof of cost).

What exactly are your responsibilities as an "administrator" though? What will you administrate?