Chinese-Forums

Newbie here

Guest thats_my_boy

Hi

My sister and brother-in-law are in China right now to adopt a little girl. I'm curious if anyone can please tell me how to pronounce "aunt" in CHinese. And if there is a good website where you can hear pronunciations without paying for it. I've had no luck searching.

Thanks so much! :)

father's sister is gu'ma 姑妈 or gu'gu 姑姑.

mother's sister is yi'ma 姨妈 or a'yi 阿姨.

father's sister is gu'ma 姑妈(if father is younger) or gu'gu 姑姑(if the sister is younger)

mother's sister is yi'ma 姨妈(if the sister is older) or a'yi 阿姨(if the sister is younger)

Even if you're older I'd go with a'yi 阿姨. It's a much more common term of address, used (like auntie sometimes is in the West) to mean a female grown-up familiar to the child.

Do you have friends of Chinese origin? It would be so nice if the little girl could be kept in touch with her cultural/linguistic roots. (I'm sure this is something you would have thought about anyway)

err, disrespectful to who, Quest? To the person who asked the question? But if they knew that then they wouldn't have asked... oh never mind.

Anyway, not in Taiwan. What region are you referring to? In Taiwan you can use either word to refer to a younger or older sister, but 阿姨 is much more common for both. My son has four aunts (!), one younger and three older sisters and they're all 阿姨s.

He actually addresses them 大姨, 二姨, 三姨 and 妹妹姨(!).

阿姨 is used as a generic term for all young to middle-aged women. Any older than that and it's 姨 , any younger and it's 姐姐.

I would have called them 大姨妈, 二姨妈, 三姨妈 and 小姨, and that is the CORRECT way to address them.

Of course, you can call your aunt uncle, or your grandpa daddy, given that they dont mind it. I would think that the person who asked the question would want to learn the correct terms.