Chinese-Forums

Caofangzi 《草房子》text file for use with CTA

艾墨本

I've been reading this book and love it. However, I would like to analyze the full text using Chinese Text Analyzer to help me prioritize the vocabulary I'm studying.

I have failed to find it online, as has my Chinese friend. 

Does anyone have this book in a copy-and-past-able form?

A good way to search for this sort of thing is to google for <name of book>  .txt.

In this case searching for

《草房子》 .txt 

Should get you numerous results - though many online e-books have inaccuracies such as missing sections and incorrect characters due to scanning errors.

@mouse

Thank you for the link. I had seen that one before but the task of copy and pasting chapter by chapter was daunting. At this point it seems I have no other options.

@imoron

Thanks for the recommendation. I'll do that next time I'm searching for the text. I was doing 草房子全文. I'm not worried about minor errors this time around since I'm not actually reading it in CTA but just want to analyze the content some.

Thank you for the PDF version!

I have also gone through and compiled the chapters into one large txt file.

If anyone wants this in the future, please contact me. 

Edit: realized I can upload the file directly to here. As @Imron pointed out, though:

many online e-books have inaccuracies such as missing sections and incorrect characters due to scanning errors.

I also didn't format it to be easy on the eyes.

Caofangzi complete text.txt

@Realmayo: first and foremost, it has easier language while still maintaining "mature" content. As I venture into reading Chinese novels, I think this is the most important aspect for me.