Chinese-Forums

Teaching in an International school in China vs HK?

cocobongo384

Hi everyone,

I am looking for some advice as I am interested in teaching in an international school in China( preferably near Shenzhen) or Hong Kong. As I have a daughter and we want her to get into an international school, I am aiming for a school which has free tuition provided for the employee's offspring, and preferably also with free housing/housing allowance provided. 

A little about myself: I can speak and write Chinese fluently (My Cantonese is better than my Mandarin). I was mainly schooled in US and have also studied in Hong Kong before, hence the Chinese-speaking ability. I have the CELTA certification, and I majored in Business Economics in a well-known university in US and minored in accounting. I can also speak intermediate Japanese and beginner's Spanish. However, I do not have much prior teaching experience. I am currently working in e-commerce and have done so for the past 5 years. 

Based on the above information, I have the following questions:

-How hard would it be for me to get a job in HK/Shenzhen in an international school which provides housing and free tuition for daughter? 

-Which location would I be more likely to be able to find this job, HK or Shenzhen?

-Any advice to increase my chances to get this kind of job and make myself more desirable to employers?

Thank you so much for your help, I really appreciate it!

Almost all International schools require teachers to hold full qualifications in their native country. On top of that, many schools also require at least 2 years experience.

That said, I do know a few people here in Beijing who have gone into Intl school jobs through alternative routes. However, they were already established here as teachers of ESL / kindergarten. They'd been here for a number of years also so had contacts. I also know someone who got a role as a dance teacher at an Intl school but this is slightly different!