Chinese-Forums

Online skype course for complete beginners

Radical Mandarin

This offer is no longer available. Thank you for your time.

Greetings, my friends!

I'm writing a textbook (Mandarin for complete beginners), so I'm looking for complete beginners to help me test run it (while learning Mandarin in a relaxed informal setting). I'll be teaching you according to my program, just like a normal course, with the difference that you'll be encouraged to give your thoughts, suggestions, and any feedback.

For example: "it was absolutely great" or "that example could be offensive to some", "I feel it's too easy and diluted, I could learn more in less time", "there's so many new words, I totally get discouraged" etc. I need someone who can give positive as well as negative feedback. Naturally grumpy people are preferred! =) 

I'm planning to use the format of skype lessons, one-on-one. It'll take about 10-15 individual lessons to complete the course.

We'll cover (in no specific order)

-introduction to tones & pin yin, pronunciation tips

-greetings, goodbyes

-useful phrases

-numbers

-pronouns

-key vocabulary

-stroke order

-writing characters

-using your smartphone, tablet or what have you to input characters

-external sources, such as authentic videos and simple texts on the Chinese web

If this sounds interesting, and you are a native speaker of English (from 15 to 60 years old) who wants to start learning Mandarin, please apply. Here's a little questionnaire for any potential volunteers.

1. What's your name?
2. How old are you? 

3. Do you speak other languages other than English? If yes, which languages, and how well?

3. Have you studied Mandarin before? If you answered yes, what have you studied?

5. Do you usually prefer to learn on your own, or take a course?

6. Why do you want to learn Chinese?