Chinese-Forums

Learn Mandarin from Cantonese

CantoMando

Hey Guys,

If this is considered spam, let me know.

I've been learning Mandarin for about 10 months now, and I found that as a Western Cantonese speaker, resources were hard to find.

The average Cantonese speaker in Canada/ America isn't that great and cannot read. However, we do speak (but not well).

I found that when I was learning, resources meant for English speakers were too simple, and I quickly lost interest. Having a Cantonese background, I already understood Mandarin structure, I just needed to know the words to directly translate. Unfortunately, Oral Cantonese is different from Written Chinese, and as such, it was hard to figure out whether word could be used the same way, or even if they were the same word. At the same time, Cantonese resources were inaccessible, as I couldn't read Chinese back then, and I wasn't good at Cantonese.

I remember learning a Mandarin word and being confused at how to use it, as the explanations were all in English. However, once I figured out the Cantonese equivalent expression, I knew instantly how to use it and form sentences.

Long story short, I decided to teach what I wrote above. It's something that I really wish I had when I was starting off, and it's something I hope that people can benefit from.

If this is considered spam, let me know. Otherwise, check out the article below and I hope it helps you out :)

HOW HARD IS IT TO LEARN MANDARIN IF I ALREADY SPEAK CANTONESE?

Interesting.

Do you know about Glossika? http://www.glossika.com

There is a purchase option "Triangulation" for custom packs, it lets you select source and target language. I wonder if the resulting Cantonese -> Mandarin package would be what one expects.

No idea if this is relevant to you or other learners you know in terms of pricing and difficulty.

I haven't used Glossika myself yet but I might give it a try one day, not necessarily with Chinese.