Chinese-Forums

去 and 来

qiyage

今天我们来学习第一课?

This is the correct one. Someone else will have to explain why. I'm not good with such things, but could 来 in this sentence signal a planned or suggested action? That would be my best guess. 

It's also perfectly clear without either 去 or 来。

今天我们学习第一课。

来 and 去 indicate direction.

If you are at home and are going to school, you say 去, if you are already at school, you say 来。

It's like when you are with someone ouside a building, you say 进去, and when you are inside and the other one is outside, you say to him 进来。

So it's a question of the position of the speaker. 

But when talking about going to school, usually there is 上 and not 来、去 : 今天我们上第一课。

今天我们来学习第一课。

来 in this sentence is no longer a verb of movement. It has little semantic content. Its main purpose is to serve a grammatical function.

《汉语大词典》 has an entry for this usage. But I don't know how to define it linguistically. Maybe hortative (like "let's"), maybe inceptive (like "get going"), maybe a mix of both.

18. 用在动词或动词结构前面,表示要做某事。

巴金《探索集・豪言壮语》:“自己改不了就请大家来帮忙。”

如:你来念一遍;大家来想办法。

As to why 来 but not 去, let's consider this English sentence:

Today we're going to learn how to say ....

"Going" is also a grammatical word. It's part of the periphrastic future tense "be going to" + verb.

Can I use "coming" instead? I think the answer is no. Because "coming" does not have the same function.

So my point is, natural language is messy and irrational. It's governed by convention, not logic. Don't over-analyze it.

• Like 4

It's governed by convention, not logic. Don't over-analyze it.

I strongly disagree. 

The thing about  来 and 去 is that it can be used to indicate movement away or towards a deictic center. toward: 来   away: 去