Learn Chinese in China
Napkat

Finally getting my rear into gear and studying. [Personal Progress Thread]-

81 posts in this topic

At a Glance - Years of Progression

7th September (thread start) - 31st December 2016

702 characters learned, 116 hrs 45 mins. spent studying.

1st January 2017 - 31st December 2017

HSK 4 exam passed (218/300)

[ongoing]

Hey guys! Welcome to my personal Chris-promises-he's-going-to-buckle-down-and-study thread.

Who am I?

My name's Chris. Last year I studied in China for six months on a British Council scholarship (culminating in a wonderful 120/300 HSK 4 fail) and I'm back this year teaching English in Beijing. I've been constantly - albeit passively - trying my best to improve my Chinese and build on what I already know, but I've never ever really documented what I've been studying on a week-by-week basis or how I've been studying. I've never really had any form of accountability for my actions, and as such no stick to poke me whenever I get lazy (cue this thread).

Why are you doing this?

I'm making this thread with the purpose of logging what Chinese (and how) I study per week, alongside the effectiveness of the study method that I used. This is partially to remind myself that study pays off; looking back at progress achieved is a small reward in its own right. It's partially for accountability's sake - with this thread being public on the forums, it would be suspiciously noticeable were I not posting weekly updates all of a sudden. It's also - and it's a bit embarrasing to say - for the sake of support. I've had an account on these forums for an embarrassingly long time and have never really used them, but I'd like to try. I'd love to get to know some people on here and would really appreciate advice and support from those who have already broken through the plateau of intermediate Mandarin. I'd love to hear any advice or tips. :)

So - what are the goals?