Chinese-Forums

Feedback on current study

cliveface96

Hello, 

I'm back again with another question. I've been working on my study routine since I last posted and tried to incorporate your advice into it after my first (disastrous) online Chinese lesson.

I'm a uni student and currently have 2-3 hours a day to pump some Mando study out. 

My current approach:

- Get daily target on Memrise (20-25 mins)

- Finish Skritter reviews i.e. just get it down to 0 reviews left (40-50 mins)

- Do an elementary Chinese pod lesson (listen to dialogue a few times, then listen to the actual podcast, then listen to the dialogue again, write some notes on it, do the exercises - there's some transcription listening stuff and basically just reading simplified comprehension exercises. (takes about an hour).

- Try to do some shadow reading - Idk if that's the correct name I basically just record myself and then compare it to the person speaking it to try and get it to sound as close as possible (like 30 mins). 

My thoughts:

- I tried to add in the shadow reading to supplement the speaking a bit.  It's definitely not enough though ... I'm going to start scheduling more frequent Italki lessons now. Once a week, maybe twice. What are your opinions on frequency (I'm also a pretty poor uni student :(

- I was thinking of maybe starting to listen to a TV series or something with chinese subtitles on, Ipartment or something? Not really sure if this is a good idea or not yet. 

- I read on another forum that just reading a book and transcribing it was also a good way to learn. 

Opinions on this setup? 

How can I improve it? How can I optimise it? 

I've basically got a year where I want to get as good at Chinese as I can before I do an exchange ;). 

Cheers

Clive