Chinese-Forums

Looking for help with visa process

vaeal

I am an American citizen living in Arizona and aspiring to teach in China as soon as I can (hopefully in the next 2 months). I am trying to avoid any further delays in the process so any help, insight, tips, or advise would be much appreciated. Sorry if this is a bit lengthier than average but I want to avoid misunderstandings! FWIW I am 30, white, native English speaker born in the USA.

I graduated with my Bachelors (Liberal Arts) a few days ago. I haven't received the diploma yet but I should any day this week. I have an active passport but it only has 18 months validity remaining. I have read that you need 6 months remaining before it expires although now I am reading that you need 6 months remaining after the estimated date of return. Which is the case? I don't currently have any plans to return and hope to enjoy China enough to stay for quite some time. Does this mean I need to renew my passport before getting a visa since by the time I leave I will have less than 18 months? If I have to renew the passport, am I unable to apply for a job? Will the passport number be different in the new book and is that required for them to start the paperwork on their end to get me the invitation letter? The passport does not have any stamps in it.

I am living and working in Arizona now (Arizona drivers license) but I recently (July) moved here from Colorado. Neither state has a consulate and the servicing consulates are in Las Angeles (For Arizona) and Chicago (for Colorado). Am I correct in assuming I need to use the one in LA since that is where I currently live? Their website says that they do not accept visa applications by mail. Am I required to physically go to the LA consulate or am I able to use a 3rd party visa provider? If so, how do they work since I would be mailing my particulars to them. Do they have a special relationship with the consulate?