Chinese-Forums

3rd most Intensive Program (Nxt to IUP - ICLP)

Harvey

ICLP - http://ccms.ntu.edu.tw/~iclp/

IUP - http://ieas.berkeley.edu/iup/

From what I have read on the forums, I gather than ICLP and IUP are by far the most intensive Mandarin language programs in China and Taiwain. Is this true? They both seem to be great for someone who really wants to go hardcore with the language.

That said, they both also do not teach Chinese to beginners. They require 1-2 years of University level language experience. I don't have that!

Other than these two stellar schools, what is the next best thing for intensive - serious about learning the language Chinese programs in China?

I say in China because I believe there are other very intensive programs even back in the US and other countries, that may be better than schools in China in terms of instruction, but I would really rather be learning in the target country if possible.

Thanks for any advice!

I am also a beginner and interested in an intensive program in China. When I contacted IUP they said I didn't have enough language skills to apply and they recommended the Taipei Language Institute (located in Taiwan and China) as a primer for IUP. Based on that recommendation and hearing generally good things about TLI, I am starting individual lessons there in September. I'll have a fuller report after I start. For now I'll say they helped me get a visa (still in process), which I think is rare for a private language school. They've been very responsive over email and there seems to be less bureaucracy than one would encounter at a public school.