Chinese-Forums

Who is at / coming to Beijing Normal (Beishida)

roddy

There seem to be a lot of queries about BNU at the moment, so I thought I'd start this topic to see how many prospective / actual students there we have. Never studied there myself, but I live just down the road and am quite often on campus.

Roddy

I'm a prospective student at BNU, on Chinese government scholarship for the year. I am arriving in Beijing on the 31st of July and will have a month before school starts to sort out stuff.

I have been to Beijing once before for about two weeks and stayed at a hostel near Xidan, I think the hostel was Xijiao? Before that I spent a summer in Benxi (Liaoning) and another in Dalian. I lived in Singapore last year on exchange.

I plan on checking in at the university and trying to figure out some accomodation.

I read the post on BNU before and thought to check out some of the housing areas around, but I have a solid month to set all that up, however it would be pretty fine if anyone could offer a little help/advice.

Thanks

I will probably be at BNU. I might check out BeiDa first since their registration is a day or two earlier, but most likely I'll be at BNU this year as a general student. Out of curiousity, why have others decided on going to BNU over other universities? I chose it because (1) I have heard good things about the school and teachers in general. (2) They seem pretty well organized (3) Location seems pretty good, and it appears as if you can actually get housing and pick which type of accomodation you want if you reserve it online as directed in the packet they send out. (4) I am not sure if there are less English speaking foreign students here or not, but it seems like many people mention BLCU and BeiDa before BNU....anyway, I was just wondering...

One last question, I guess good old cash, reminbi or American is the only way to go-huh? drats...they don't accept wire transfers do they?