Chinese-Forums

应该 vs 该, 改变 vs 变, ...

Apollys

There are some cases where we have a one-character and a two-character version of a word (the original character plus another). I'm wondering if in general we can consider the one-character version as slightly more casual, or if the meanings themselves actually differ, or if there is no difference at all?

应该 vs 该

改变 vs 变

知道 vs 知 (only came across 知 as a standalone character once so far)

生活 vs 活 (as the verb "to live", haven't seen 活 as a noun)

Maybe other people have more examples too, I'm just a beginner to Chinese for now.

It is my impression that shortening appropriate words to one character is both more casual and more aesthetic in a poetical sense.

Think of the difference between a photograph and a painting sketched with a few brush strokes.

Taken for itself, a shortened word will often be less precise in meaning, as the single character could be part of more than just one word.

However if the context within the sentence is clear, a shortened word can preserve its precise meaning.

Example: The verb 坐 can have multiple meanings, one of which is identical with 乘坐. However in the context of "坐车", it is clear that the

meaning of 坐 is identical to 乘坐.

• Like 1

I think it would be difficult to come up with an 应该 sentence where shortening the word to 该 will alter the meaning or make it unclear.

However it's easy to come up with a 该 sentence where the meaning is not the same as 应该。

For example 我该他五元钱。(I owe him five Yuan.)

It's a really good question.