Chinese-Forums

Minimum number of tuition hours for an X2 student visa?

aless

I was in Xiamen last summer on a tourist L visa and I attended a  private school. I took one-to-one classes where I could learn a lot faster than with group classes, and I am quite happy with my progress to almost intermediate level.

But studying on a tourist visa (Italian passport, maximum 60 days double entry plus a not guaranteed 30 days extension, exist after the first 30 days) is not very good.

So I was thinking about an X2 visa, I work as a translator and I cannot enrol when semesters start at Universities, I would like to sign up at a private school, this coming March or April, but before I contact my old school or other possible candidate schools in China, I'd like to know if there is a minimum number of hours trequirement o be able to apply for an X2 visa.

As far as I know X2 visas are for periods of 180 days or less, but I couldn't find how many hours minimum in that six months window. 

I would fly to Hong Kong and apply for my student visa there, or I can also go with a tourist visa, get the needed paperwork done at the school and go back to HK to apply for the student visa. Xiamen is just a few hours away.

Anybody with direct experience applying for an X2 visa for, say, 6 months, at a private school?

I could be wrong, but when I looked into this a couple of years ago all of the private schools I contacted said only the universities can supply a student visa, be it an X1 or X2. Not too sure whether it's a rule, or they were just saying they can't apply for the student visas.

9 hours ago, aless said:

maximum 60 days double entry

I'm Italian too. I'd say forget about 60 days double entry tourism visa. I've seen giving only up to 30 days for Italian citizens.