Chinese-Forums

Yet another dating question

Squawk 1200

Since in a few years (I will be age 26-27 by then) I may find myself living in China, I need to ask what will be my dating chances if I am looking for certain characteristics in a girl?

The thing is, my personality is (has always been) fairy different from personalities of most other people my age - I am far less materialistic than most other people, I don't care about fashionable clothes, expensive cars and other stuff like that, my parents and sister also aren't materialistic (my sister firmy rejected several rich suitors, including a doctor and several businessmen, and married a man who earns 2x less than she does). I also have a fairy wide range of interests - very much the only thing I wasn't interested in to at least some degree are visual arts (I became a huge fan of WW2 aviation at age 10, then military and history at 11, I was utterly pasionate about spaceflight/astronomy at 13-14 and then I self taught myself English to a near native level at 16).

Would it be possible for me to find a girl who is more on the intellectual rather than material side of life? She wouldn't have to be a genius (though she may as well be :P) nor spend all time in nothing but books/scientific papers - just fairy smart and willing to spend free time on some more intellectually productive activities rather than partying/shopping :) 

I wouldn't exclude large groups of women, you don't know who you will meet and if you set yourself limits you will limit your chance of finding "Miss Right".

I have seen very materialistic, not scholarly women/people change. One was into fast cars, clothes, money and was even a fashion model, this lasted a couple of years, now she lives on a smallholding, living a "green" , close to the earth, intellectual life in the USA.

Never judge a book by its cover.