Chinese-Forums

HSK 3 in 19th March and feeling unprepared. help with tips

dumpling98

Hello everyone. I am new here. I have HSK 3 this March in 19th. I started studying Chinese in last October at university and progressed at a steady pace. I took some HSK 2 mock tests and aced them and decided to jump to HSK 3 since in my university you can apply for one year in China with HSK 3 and HSKK Beginner.

I lost some time with finals and now I am finally free and started preparing for HSK 3 with mock tests. I am shocked how hard it is. I did two mock tests so far and I only scored 196 and 219 out of 300. It seems that I am between HSK 2 and HSK3. I have come to you to ask for some tips. I only have one month left. My weakest part would be Listening. At both tests it was BRUTAL. Like I wouldn't understand anything except a few words sometimes. It is so frustrating since I checked the transcripts and I would have understood everything.

How can I bridge this huge gap in listening? I read online that doing transcripts of the listening material helps a lot to improve. What do you think about this?

Any tip is welcome. Please help a poor Chinese students with big dreams. 谢谢

• Like 1

Listening is something that requires a lot of practice, you can listen to anything and it will do well for you but you don't have a long term goal, instead you want to pass HSK 3 soon. So you need to be able to recognize the directions of the exercises and the words contained in the HSK 3 wordlist, rather than some other random words. Just focus on the exam for now. Then I recommend you to try more mock tests, some are available on chinesetesting website, some on popupchinese and then you can buy HSK books from BLCUP for example..HSK standard course 3..