Chinese-Forums

在 vs. 要

gabbklein

Never mind! I looked again, and the boy is in the act of swimming. But I can't figure out how to delete this post. :-(

I'm studying Mandarin using Rosetta Stone, which shows grammar, but doesn't explain it. I'm confused by one grammar "lesson", which compares 在 and 要.

I think the distinction is to use 在 for actions in progress and to use 要 for actions you hadn't started yet, but I'm confused by one picture.

There were 4 pictures in the lesson. Each had a sentence with a choice between 在 and 要. Here are the 4 answers with a description of the picture:

1. A calendar shows a boy swimming today.

今天我游泳。

2. A calendar shows a boy studying tomorrow.

明天我学习。

3. A man is holding out cash to a woman who is holding out a ticket.

买票。

4. A girl holds a lunch tray in front of her.

吃午饭了。

I understand that in #2 the boy has not started studying yet, and in #4 the girl has not started eating yet (she's still holding the tray). Also, in #3, the man is in the act of purchasing the ticket. My confusion is that in #1, the boy *plans* to swim today, but he is not currently *in the act* of swimming.

If I correctly understand the distinction, why didn't they show a picture of the boy swimming now? Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance!

Edited by gabbklein
I answered my own question.

I strongly suggest that you choose another text book/course to learn from. As you yourself said there are no explanations.

IMHO Rosetta Stone is not suitable as a stand alone learning tool, I would go so far as to say it is useless on its own.

Try using New Practical Chinese Reader, I use and like it. Or one of the many others out there.

Or if you like using apps try HelloChinese.

Have a look at my blog for more info on all these things and more. https://www.chinese-forums.com/blogs/blog/108-my-chinese-learning-blog/

You might try edX there is a good free course there. More info also on my blog.

23 minutes ago, gabbklein said: