Chinese-Forums

Learning cantonese instead mandarin?

Kijn the Relar

Hi, I have recently become interested again in chinese. Im not sure what chinese to study honestly. Everyone claims u should study mandarin but thing is, I live in the US and have no reason businesswise to learn chinese. I am learning it out of interest pretty much. I know very little about dialects of chinese but I do know cantonese seems to me to sound cooler than mandarin.  

thing is, Im actually an animation student and hearing about china's future animation market seems to intrigue me as if learning the language might pay off in my field. I will say, I have no idea what dialect chinese restaurants speak near me, I live in north carolina btw. It would be awesome to be able to talk to those speakers and order in chinese if possible. Im also concerned about the avaliable learning materiala for cantonese or other dialects.

Any thoughta? 

Totally agree with Lu. Maybe do some further exploration into the different Chinese dialects and see what you like, but remember that as far as usefulness goes Mandarin will fulfil both party trick status and practical tasks around the globe as it is fast becoming the predominant lingua franca in the Chinese speaking world. Nevertheless if you're likely to be self studying then I think the biggest factor in your success or failure will be how much you like the language you're studying, so by all means go with Cantonese if that's your thing.

By the way, is your username related to the King Killer Chronicle?

• Like 1

I worked in a chinese grocery store for about a year here in Florida. Of the 26 chinese coworkers I had about 6 or 7 spoke cantonese. Of these only one didn't speak mandarin as well. It was the daughter of the owner who was second generation and just spoke with the family at home.

I had coworkers from Taiwan, Guangzhou, Xian, Tianjin, Inner Mongolia, Fuzhou etc. They all had local dialects but spoke together in mandarin with no problem.