Chinese-Forums

To: Chinese learner-----a quiz

ggonline

If you can understand the following sentence, Congratulations!! you've reached the level of high school of native chinese speaker.

someone' life:

初从文,三年不中;遂习武,校场发一矢,中鼓吏,逐出之。后学医,有所成。自撰一良方,服之,卒。

I was reading about someone's education (in China) recently, and he wrote that he studied 論語 and 孟子 while in elementary school. That sounds more advanced than now. I know I couldn't compare with a high school student. I'd like to know when an average child can read: the newspaper, 孟子, a 金庸 novel, and 紅樓夢.

初从文,三年不中;遂习武,校场发一矢,中鼓吏,逐出之。后学医,有所成。自撰一良方,服之,卒。

戏笔,以增诸君一笑, 所译如下,8)

At the beginning, I was engaged in liberal arts, but I didn’t pass the imperial exam for three years. Then I learned martial arts, however, I was driven out of the drill ground for the arrow I shot hit the drum official. Finally, I studied medicine and made an achievement. I prescribed an effective formula for myself, took it and ended up in obituary.

哈哈哈哈哈! :lol::lol::lol:

(Thanks for your advice, skylee! I have amended the sentence. Thanks again!) :mrgreen:

I dont think that's a good measurement, because that's 文言文,classical Chinese, a lot of chinese people themself wont understand it.

I assure you that every Chinese having high school diploma will definitely understand it! and I wish you have fun

Yeah, this is just basic classical Chinese. Probably many 9th graders would able to understand it.

Classical Chinese is Chinese counterpart to Latin, which was the common written language (though not spoken) for much of Europe a few hundred years ago, when school kids used to read Horace and Cicero in the original.