Chinese-Forums

The basics: Tomatoes and eggs 番茄炒鸡蛋

abcdefg

I found some on-line versions that do it the way you said, Imron. I think this dish is pretty forgiving and has no absolute right and wrong, as long as one does not overcook the eggs and make them tough.

Yes, very basic. And everybody does it slightly differently. I prefer a higher egg-to-tomato ratio. Have never used garlic before. And I add salt to eggs before stirring them up (people in the north 口味比較重:P)

• Like 1

What you're saying about adding sugar is really true. In the past I always tried to make the tomato egg dish and I always failed. It tasted 'Western'. Later I found out it's indeed the sugar that makes it taste 'Chinese'. I like the taste much more with sugar. I guess I'm more Chinese ;)

• Like 1

That "tomato dishes should be sweet" thing stumped me for a long time too, @Teasenz. Took years to become used to it.

I used to sometimes have lunch at a street stall near where I studied and their summer special was sliced tomatoes liberally sprinkled with sugar, offered as a side dish to accompany a bowl of rice noodles.They were vine ripened and deep red in color; tons of flavor. Once I asked the proprietor to just let me have the tomatoes plain, without sugar. She reluctantly agreed after strongly warning me about how sour they were. (They seemed perfect to my palate.)

One of the things I buy first when I return to the US annually is ordinary canned tomato juice. Have never gotten used to sweetened Chinese tomato juice which is popular here.

Good old  番茄炒鸡蛋, a real mainstay and brilliant dish when I couldn't find much else in the far corners of China.

I will try this - I have made it before but always felt it was lacking something; my own version tasted a little western and a little bland. I added sugar but presumed there was another dash of something else in there that I was missing.