Chinese-Forums

What are easy chinese novels to read?

Chaterine

• New Members

Hello, I'm a chinese learner since a long time ago (I started from when I was in elementary school, but I stopped, then I started learning again last year). And, now, I'm trying to find a good chinese reading material, preferably the easy ones. I can read Mandarin Companion Series Graded 1-2, and Chinese Breeze series level 1-3, and maybe some webtoons stories that are translated in Chinese. What do you think a suitable read for me? I also prefer an online story too so I can use pera-pera as my reading helper. Thank you.

There's an index thread of graded readers.

As for native content, do check out the thread given by somthingfunny above.

My impression is, 余华‘s 活着 is many people's first Chinese novel. His language is deliberately simple.

You can also try the Chinese translation of Le Petit Prince 小王子 or the Harry Potter series 哈利波特系列.

P.S. If you're using Firefox, you can load a .pdf or .txt file either by Right click on the file->Open with->Choose default program->Browse or Alt->File->Open file (Ctrl-O). Firefox is not as fussy about local files as Chrome. Perapera should work perfectly.

Hi. I just finished levels 1-2 of Chinese Breeze and Mandarin this week, so I'm in a similar situation.

I decided to start reading 笑猫日记: 会唱歌的猫. (The Smiling Cat Diaries, #18: The Singing Kitty). It's a very popular series of children's books. The author has been nicknamed "The Chinese J. K. Rowling". I purchased the book in 新华书店 in Beijing. It was just 15 RMB. I wish I had brought the complete collection, but at the time I was just exploring the book store, and didn't want to carry too much stuff with me. I'm attaching a picture of the cover and of a phrase I found funny in the first chapter.