Chinese-Forums

Resources to learn Chinese from nothing

Hi everyone, I made this post to ask for some good quality resources for learning from the very beginning.

YouTube channels, books (physical, PDFs or Epubs), podcasts, webpages, apps or anything else that could come to your mind. I also want to emphasize that I'm an independent student and I have no access to native/fluent Chinese speakers and teachers so any resource that could allow me to self-study would be really useful.

I know that all of these resources are spread across this forum but it would be really helpful for me and future Chinese language learners to have a single thread where we could find them.

Thanks in advance.

2 hours ago, MrDuque said:

I know that all of these resources are spread across this forum but it would be really helpful for me and future Chinese language learners to have a single thread where we could find them.

You will find many (several hundred) listed here on these forums if you simply type "study resources" into the search box, upper right corner of the page. Some are specifically aimed at people who are self studying from zero. You can limit your search to those if you wish.

It's too much for one single thread. Discussing and finding study resources is probably the main reason most people originally come to this forum. Over time, many members end up listing their own favorite tools.

Here's a recent one I found helpful: https://www.chinese-forums.com/forums/topic/51989-a-short-list-of-resources-for-studying-chinese/

• Like 2

One word of caution @MrDuque - Olle Linge (hackingchinese author) is extremely verbose. You might find it useful to skim a couple of his posts (or more, if you read just the bolded headers) but there's nothing earth-shattering to be gained from them, especially for beginners.