Chinese-Forums

城南旧事

Fred0

It has been suggested that I start a topic related to Memories of Peking or 城南旧事,which I am  currently reading. This is my first attempt at reading a Chinese novel, and I need a lot of help. 

My current problem is the little girl 小英子 has made a smart answer to the maid 宋妈 who has made fun of her. The maid laughes and says, "“你嘴厉害不是?咬不动烧饼可别哭呀!” This appears to be an aporism, but I can't make sense of it. "Your mouth is difficult to deal with, isn't it? When you can't bite your sesame cake, don't cry then." Would someone give me a better translations and explain the meaning? Thanks.

• Like 1

奔窝头, 还常常吃了上顿没下顿呢! 唉!  This is translated as "Still we often don't know where our next meal is coming from." I understand that 顿 is the classifier for meals. My question is, how is 上 and 没下 to be understood in this context?

Also, what does 奔窝头 mean? I can't do anything with it.

Thanks.

So I gather the whole section is: “我的天老爷, 就凭我这没出息的哥哥, 什么能耐也没有, 哪儿供得起呀! 奔窝头, 我们娘儿仨, 还常常吃了上顿没下顿呢!唉!”

It's not a straightforward sentence, but I'd understand as the narrator saying how poor they all are, and even though they choose (奔) to eat the simplest of food (窝头) they still have to worry about where their next meal will come from (吃了上顿没下顿).

• Like 1

Another sentence for your consideration: 

The little girl believes that the boy who just graduated first in his class is the younger brother of the thief she has been meeting in a vacant lot, but she is not certain . She says: 他准是我所认为的那个人的弟弟吗?

I am taking 所 to be in this sentence a particle introducing a subordinate clause. My translation would be: "Is he definitely( 他准是), as I believe him to be, (我所认为), that man's younger brother?

对不对?谢谢!

• Like 1