Chinese-Forums

Mneumonic Memory Places Techniques?

wschlender

Hi!

I'm fairly new to Mandarin and was wondering if anyone had used mneumonic techniques for remembering word and character pronunciation (including the tones) before?

Here's a couple of links to people who've written about these techniques.

http://countryoftheblind.blogspot.tw/2012/01/mnemonics-for-pronouncing-chinese.html

https://mullenmemory.com/blog/2015/9/24/learning-chinese-with-memory-techniques

I took a class from a U.S. memory champion once which makes me think that these techniques could really work. I'm wondering what all of your experience has been...

I'm not an expert but there are definitely hints within the characters that can help you remember. It's pretty cool in my opinion.

I'm not going to say you should outright focus on memorising a list of the radicals, but rather notice which radicals are in the characters you're learning. It's fair to say it happens very often. A radicals meaning connected to anothers meaning, a radicals meaning connected to anothers radicals sound.

Before you know it you can kind of guess at the possible meaning or sound of characters you haven't learned yet and you have a great way to remember the characters you've already studied.

Finally, download Pleco if you haven't already. it has a character tab which will show you the components of each character. The app is really the best, read the reviews of it.

Screenshot_2017-06-01-13-14-10.png

memory palace techniques are not without their merit, but i think time could be better spent just learning words in their context. Sometimes the character or word just naturally suggests a mnemonic like 福 fu  reminds me of the English for fortune and 快 kuai sounds a bit like quick.  I second cake's suggestion to learn radicals - it's amazing how quickly you'll begin to think of 月as a moon and begin to associate it with body parts and organs :), as unlikely as those associations may seem at first glance.