Chinese-Forums

The connection between passive and active skills

Ori_A

Hello,
*There is no actual question here, more of sharing my thoughts and hoping to see other people's opinion.*
I'm a native speaker of the Hebrew language, and can speak English (very well) and Chinese (pretty decent) as well. I've started to actively think about this subject of passive and active skills during the past year, as well as about the importance of each skill (writing, reading, listening and speaking), first because I find it very interesting, and second because I think I could make my learning more effective.

When thinking about my English learning process, I would surprisingly (or not) say that speaking has had very little, if any effect on my learning. I started learning when I was 10, and did so for 8 years, during which my speaking time was limited to a few minutes during each class (if at all). I did get myself exposed to a lot of content, through TV, books and computer games, but never speaking. The first time I actually spoke English for more than 3 minutes was when I was 23 years old, while travelling in New Zealnd. And the thing is, my speaking was fine right from the start. It wasn't excellent, and obviously improved a lot since then, but I could take part in conversations dealing with many topics, while never having done that in a converstation before that time.

When rethinking my Chinese learning experience, I've had, again, a few minutes of speaking Chinese each class while learning in Israel, but nothing more than that. When I first got to China, I've had some problems with my fluency and tones, but that improved very quickly, and within a month i could use much of the vocabulary I had learned before that (not a lot, but still..), again, while never having used it in a conversation before.