Chinese-Forums

How do you study Chinese?

han4wluc

• New Members

Hi all!

My name is Luciano, I come from Italy. I have been studying Chinese for 3 years.

I am HSK 6 now and I have learn Chinese in a variety of ways, including following online websites, going through books, downloading various apps. And then I studied 1 year in Shanghai.

I talked to many other students, and realise that there are so many ways out there that you can learn Chinese now. I have become very interested in the answes.

It would be great if you could answer the below questions and share your experiences! Thank you!

• What is your HSK Level (approximately)

• Where do you study Chinese? (which school?)

• How many hours do you spend studying Chinese per week?

• What apps/websites do you use for studying Chinese? What do you use them for?

• Apart from textbooks do you use any other learning materials (eg. worksheets) to study? What do you use and why?

• How do you keep studying interesting?

• Have you tried to learn Chinese by using Chinese songs/books/articles/movies? How did it go? If not, why not?

• Like 1

6, Oral-Advanced

Self-studied for 2 years in England/America, currently studying at BYU (USA).

Active studying (learning/reviewing vocab, classes, homework): 15 hours

Passive studying (reading Chinese for pleasure, reading Chinese friends' posts on social media, watching Chinese shows, listening to music/background listening during commutes, having all my electronics in Chinese): 10-30 (this category is the most variable because some weeks I binge-watch/read and others I don't depending on my free time). 

Anki - reviewing grammar and vocabulary

Pleco - dictionary, creating vocab lists that will eventually be created in Anki

Du Chinese - Nice app for reading articles, really short articles so it is easy for me to do 2-3 every day