Chinese-Forums

Visa for 4 years of CSC scholarship - Passport expires before that

karakorum

Hello,

I am a very happy European student who has been awarded 4 years of studies in china via the CSC scholarship.

Everything is going fine except for the fact that I am currently not in Europe, I am in another continent for vacations. I will go back home in 2 weeks (17th of august).

The file sent by my embassy with the university invitation letter and the jw202 form needed for the visa application is waiting for me there, but I have no access to it and I do not know what it contains exactly until I get back.

I have been googling and reading this forum on the procedures that I will have to get done in order for my visa to be  ready within two weeks, before I leave again to China to start the semester.

I think I have everything down, but if you could confirm a couple of things for me it would be great..

My passport type should be X1 (I assume) and I quote" X1 visa can be issued for multiple entry with validity up to 5 years. "

However, my passport expires in early 2019, which is in less than 2 year. Does this mean the visa will be only valid until then? Or will they give me the full duration visa anyway? Or will I be unable to apply for any Visa altogether until I present a passport that is valid for at least the duration of my studies?

Renewing my passport  and applying in just 2 weeks might prove to be problematic as you can imagine, although doable if I pay for the "urgent service" fee. (I know this is all my fault, but after waiting for CSC results for months I decided to go on vacations for 2 weeks and the results dropped right as I left).

If it is possible I would prefer to only renew my passport in summer 2018 (I will go back to europe every summer).

Thank you!

I'm not too familiar with student visas, however in my experience they don't like to give out long term visas for more than a year.