Chinese-Forums

How to remember for the characters?

Viktor_77

Hello Everyone,

My name is Viktor, I am 23 years old and I am from Hungary.
I just found this forum and I think this is the most useful Chinese forum i have ever seen. I am studying for almost 1,5  years and I am having difficulties in the memorising of the Characters. I can understand the tones, the sandhi (not easy to memorize, but I can find some logic in that), I love the grammar... etc. I just simply always forget the characters, after a time. If I can remember them, I will study much faster, I think.  I really want to be a professional and I have a  strong will to learn. Can you suggest me some method what could help me in this ?

I suppose, there has to be a method for this.
This is really frustrating for me, and I want to get over with it.
Thanks, in advance

What works for one person may not work well for another, but I find writing characters out again and again -- filling up page after page -- a good approach, as well as reading and then reading more. Concentrate on the basic 300-400 characters. Once you've got those locked down new characters will be far easier.

Great too if you can spend time in China and read everything you see everywhere. Also will help enormously with speaking and listening skills.

(Don't be discouraged: 18 months is hardly any time at all when it comes to studying Chinese.)

• Like 2

I sympathize, Viktor.