Chinese-Forums

What are some things about English that Chinese people think are strange?

philipbeckwith

Some background: I am a Chinese teacher in America. Many times my students think Chinese language makes no sense. I point out that the Chinese feel the same way about English.

Can you think of some specific things about English that Chinese think are strange? I know spelling and conjugation inconsistencies in general, but can you think of something in particular? For example, why do people say "what's up?" as a greeting?

Thanks,

Phil

I think "what's up" is short for "what are you up to at the moment"

• what's up?

• 1      informal What is going on?

From an online dictionary  Oxford English dictionary.

Possibly popularised by Bugs Bunny "What's up, Doc?"

Hey thanks, Shelley! I think I wasn't clear. I know the meaning of 'What's up?' I am looking for instances of English words, phrases, conventions that just baffle Chinese people. 

Perhaps I should just make my own list, but I'm holding out a bit that some English speakers who live in China know some good examples.

Sorry, I think I see what you mean now. Not being in china I can't contribute to your list.

Maybe a few examples from your list just to give people something to follow?

Actually I do remember one situation that baffled one of my chinese teachers:

Someone asks: do you mind if.......?

The reply: Yes, you can do it........

My teacher thought it should be:  No, you can do.......

I also think it should be that.

He thought you should reply no to the "do you mind" where as people reply yes as in yes you can.

It confused him no end.

Being Chinese yourself (or are you?), perhaps you're in a better position than most of us (being non-natives) to know the answer to your question.